Modern Kung fu

Total Combat!

Chatting With Mr. “Devin Willis”

I had a chance to talk with Devin on the phone last night and enjoyed it a lot!

When did you start your martial arts training?

Devin

My father  Donald Willis was my first instructor. He liked boxing a lot and some Judo. He taught me the basics of judo and boxing when I was very young…(no gi)

Later I would train in American Kenpo , Shotokan Karate  and Kung fu. In the later years I trained with Master David Lee in Modern Kung fu and became a teacher for him in San Jose California. I have had many teachers over the years, because I am always learning.

Through Family and friends  I met other martial artists like Ed Parker. (Not just karate people but boxers , wrestlers, aikido, judo…etc. In fact Damon(His brother) has trained with world class instructors, but keeps training with me(I noted this seemed to humble Devin)

It was a very interesting time. I met Mr. Parker of Kenpo and what a great man he was and I learned a lot by talking and listening. He was a good example of leadership in the Martial Arts AND is missed.

More to come-

James</h4>

September 11, 2008 - Posted by | david lee, devin willis, ed parker, History of Modern kung fu, MKF Ranges, MKF Take downs and Throws, Uncategorized | , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Let’s talk tonight;0) perhaps My thoughts on being an LDS Christian?

    Your Friend,
    Devin Willis

    Comment by prosperstudentcare | September 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. I loved the interview! Devin Willis is one of the most humblest people I know.

    Comment by J F | September 14, 2008 | Reply

  3. I remember Training With Devin Willis And Damon Willis
    http://modernkungfu.wetpaint.com/page/I+remember+Training+With+Devin+Willis+And+Damon+Willis

    Bill

    Comment by MKF Warrior | September 18, 2008 | Reply

  4. I trained with Mr. Devin Willis for over 10 years. He is the best that I have trained with hands down!

    http://modernkungfu.wetpaint.com/page/Defensive+Tactics+at+Select+Patrol

    Comment by Devin Willis Student | September 21, 2008 | Reply

  5. James,

    For the record, although I trained in the early years in Kenpo I never became a black belt.

    Brother Parker and his family was a great example to me.

    Devin Willis

    Comment by Devin Willis | December 30, 2008 | Reply

  6. I asked Mr. Devin Devin The following question two years ago:

    Traditional or modern kung fu?
    which one is better for fighting a street fight

    Master Willis’s Answer :
    http://au.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070705220229AADe2fx

    Comment by Zen seeker | April 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

