Modern Kung fu

Total Combat!

Chatting With Mr. “Devin Willis”

I had a chance to talk with Devin on the phone last night and enjoyed it a lot!

When did you start your martial arts training?

Devin

My father  Donald Willis was my first instructor. He liked boxing a lot and some Judo. He taught me the basics of judo and boxing when I was very young…(no gi)

Later I would train in American Kenpo , Shotokan Karate  and Kung fu. In the later years I trained with Master David Lee in Modern Kung fu and became a teacher for him in San Jose California. I have had many teachers over the years, because I am always learning.

Through Family and friends  I met other martial artists like Ed Parker. (Not just karate people but boxers , wrestlers, aikido, judo…etc. In fact Damon(His brother) has trained with world class instructors, but keeps training with me(I noted this seemed to humble Devin)

It was a very interesting time. I met Mr. Parker of Kenpo and what a great man he was and I learned a lot by talking and listening. He was a good example of leadership in the Martial Arts AND is missed.

More to come-

James</h4>

September 11, 2008 Posted by | david lee, devin willis, ed parker, History of Modern kung fu, MKF Ranges, MKF Take downs and Throws, Uncategorized | , , , | 6 Comments