Modern Kung fu

Total Combat!

Sanshou + Modern Kung Fu?

I had studied Sanshou or Sanda for over 15 years and Devin threw me aouound like a baby.which is humbling-Sanshou modern Chinese hand to hand combat, self-defense system, and combat sport. Rather seen as an independent style it is consider just one of the components of chinese martial arts and is normally taught alongside other wushu.

The term Sanda has a longer history and is more commonly used. Sanshou was the official name given to the martial art when it was formalized and standardized by the Chinese government. Later the official name reverted back to Sanda.

It is composed of some aspects of traditional martial arts fighting styles in China, but mainly based on scientific one on one combat efficiency. Sanshou is composed of chinese martial arts applications inculding most aspects of combat including striking and grappling. Sanda tournaments are one of the two sport wushu disciplines recognized by the International Wushu Federation

As an unarmed self-defense system, Sanshou includes punches, kicks and grappling (throws, locks, chokes)

Mr. Devin Willis seems to use a more effective Sanshou-He just called MKF

Some Sanda (Sanshou) fighters who are well-known in the U.S.A. include the IKF champion Cung Le, Rudi Ott, and Marvin Perry. Some well-known Sanda fighters within China itself include Yuan Yubao and Liu Hailong who was once called “The Conqueror of Muay Thai”.

May 3, 2007 - Posted by | david lee, devin willis, MKF Ranges, Sanshou | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. See my answer to your question. I am trying to contact Devin Willis , so he can give advice for this blog

    in what ways is Devin’s ways are different different from jiujitsu or Catch Wrestling cambo or judo or wrestling?”

    I can only offer my personal opinion of what makes these different from one another, how I perceive the differences that are in relation to experiences I’ve had.

    I feel Catch Wrestling is different in that it has a very aggressive manner of causing constant pain and pressure on your opponent. Catch Wrestlers tend to look to cause constant pain and pressure regardless of the position. If you are on top, pressure, pain…if you are on bottom you are also causing pressure and pain while looking to regain top position. Pain and pressure is your tool for setting up submissions. Catch Wrestling always looks to have the top position and that shows in the training. While the bottom guard game is studied, it is not near the amount of technical proficiency as it is with BJJ. Catch Wrestling also emphasizes physical conditioning and strength.

    Jiu-Jitsu (specifically BJJ that is) to me is a much more technical sport than Catch whereas it relies on technique to setup the escapes and submissions, etc. rather than bullying so to speak. Meaning JJ is a more relaxed style of grappling and focuses on conserving energy while using your opponents energy against him/him. This is common to most styles as well but JJ takes it to another level.

    Judo is also highly technical and has a strong emphasis on the standing game. Judo is an amazing standing art for throwing, takedowns, etc. I feel on the ground there is too much focus on stalling to get the standup back. This is a generalization based on what I’ve seen in practitioners and schools. I think Judo practitioners also are very agressive. There are those Judo practitioners who are very good on the ground but I can only speak to my own exposure to it.

    Sambo is my choice of core study as it is my opinion Sambo covers the entire range of skills needed whether it be sport of self-defense. I think of Sambo as relating to Bruce Lee’s version of JKD. Sambo takes what is useful from any source available and discards what is not. Sambo has equal emphasis on standing throws and takedowns, striking, self-defense, ground positions, etc. I am not saying it is better or worse than any of the others mentioned but is my preference.

    So, how would devin faif aginst the bove?

    Just remember these are my opinions based on my experiences, so take them as that please. 🙂

    Comment by Kevin Bog | July 28, 2007 | Reply

  2. The are a few guys teaching MKF Grappling in the US but the only ones that would be considered legit by way of lineage would be Devin Willis and Johnny Husllar. and myself is still alive but doesn’t teach privately, he does seminars once in a blue moon but that’s it.

    I have trained with David Lee and Devin Willis, now I teach catch wrestling. Devin could throw you anytime anywhere.

    there are lots of guys like myself, listed here: http://www.catchwrestling.net who train/teach Catch but have no direct ties (meaning long term training) to any of the orginal hookers from back in the day. Anyhow, I hope some of that helps. 😮

    Comment by Dick Cardinal | September 1, 2007 | Reply

  3. I don’t know, he was just unbelievable. Devin is so slick and smooth that he just gets you and your are kind of like Shit and you say to your self WTF??. This guy was just wicked tricky. Can’t explain it.

    Andrew

    Comment by Andrew | September 14, 2007 | Reply

  4. I was a purple belt in BJJ and a black belt in Judo. Currently I rolled no-gi for the first time against Mr. Devon Willis

    Being on unfamiliar ground; rolling without the benefit of grabbing onto an opponent’s gi, I found the no-gi situation initially frustrating. The moves and fundamentals were the same as gi training, but more difficult and less forgiving when going on the offense.
    I found him

    The harder you try to beat him, the faster I felt tied up. and could not tap out . From positions I didn’t even know existed. Hip cranks, Spine cranks, hamstring stretches ect it’s a humbling experience indeed.

    Comment by Nicolas | September 14, 2007 | Reply

  5. I was the past team captian at Cal State-LA , before they lost the program.I was contacted by an LDS leader about the possibility of starting a wrestling program in Pasadena Ca. I agreed and I started buliding a wrestling team, we started with six including Devin (6) weeks before the season started I was contacted and told they were going to have it. The team competed with people we had from the different wards at the time (no recruiting.) The first year we didn’t get many matches as we got such a late start scheduling meets. The team finished with a 10-1 dual meet record that year and also won the LDS Championship. Devin Willis was very good that first year. He had solid technique and was a great team leader.

    Good times 80’s ;0)

    Comment by Mitch | July 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

